Wednesday, January 23, 2013

Sports and Me

Something I've noticed throughout my life is that females either get really into sports, or have no idea what is going on.  Of course there's the happy medium, where one can enjoy a sports game, for the pleasure of watching it with family and/or friends.  For example my lovely mother.  She really doesn't understand the rules in any sports, but on Sundays when the T.V. is promptly set for football all day, my mom enjoys watching parts of the game with the family.  And when she comes to Westminster's basketball games to see me dance, she actually cheers louder than the majority of students. :P I guess thats where I get it from!  But being away from home, and not being able to watch football with my family I've begun to notice the different levels of sports enthusiasts even more.  Especially since Westminster is not a sports school, it's been very odd to me that people don't make a lot of noise at the games.  Yes I was the only one yelling during a few free throws during the men's game, but I just feel like the best sports enthusiast in the school!

I always get the questions of, "How do you know so much about sports, Caitlin?" or, "Why do you get so into sports? What's the point?"

Here is my answer.  Since I was born I have been into sports.  I guess you could say I was born into a family that appreciates sports, and gets very into it.  I've learned the different rules of different sports simply by watching a lot of games both live and on T.V., asking a lot of questions, and now I'm very knowledgable when it comes to sports.(:  It's a family bonding experience, and it's really fun to route together as a family.  My brother and I always chest bump when the Green Bay Packers score a touch down, and then proceed to chest bumping our fat head of Aaron Rodgers. (:  Its just very normal for me to yell, chant, and scream both at lives games, and at home watching on the T.V.  I don't really see the point in attending a sports game if you're not going to yell, and get into the game.  In fact it really helps the athletes to hear the noise and support.  I love all sports, but particularly LOVE football, and basketball.  Baseball is great too, but I prefer to watch that live.

Even my kitties watch sports with us.(:

I'm definitely not your average girl.  I tend to be more into sports than a lot of guys that I know.  Sometimes I wonder if some girls think it makes a girl look masculine, or not as feminine to get really pumped up about sports.  Although I can be girly at time, when it comes down to sports, I'm right there with all of the guys, cheering just as loud as they are, and fully understanding what's going on.  Of course I understand that sports just simply don't interest some people.  And this blog post totally isn't about trying to  convince others to get more into sports.  To each their own.(:

A lot of people see sports as a waste of time and energy.  I see it as a fun opportunity to bring people together, to be over enthusiastic, and to have a wonderful time watching, or participating in a sports event.  I love getting into a game, because it makes it so much more fun to watch.  I can't imagine  watching a sports game without being loud, verbal, and getting super pumped up!  Yes I am very dramatic when it comes to my teams, and I get very invested, and so into the game I start getting anxiety and sweating when I think my teams in trouble.  But I find so much joy in sports, and watching it with friends and family that I don't mind if others could care less about sports. (:

And the world knows I have the biggest crush on Aaron Rodgers. Mhmmm! (;  


I think it's safe to say my future husband sure better be into sports. . I can't truly express my love for sports through words, but a lot of my friends that have watched Packers games with me, or seen me at live sports games, I'm yelling at the top of my lungs!! 

I'm going to do a segment next on my college bowl game trips, as well as my experiences at Wrigley Field watching the Cubs!


xoxo, Cate

No comments:

Post a Comment